Please Just Let Me Cry

Ages & Stages of Loss: The 60’s 

The series about, “Ages & Stages of Loss,” ends with the poem below, but there is so much more share. As we introduced mother loss at every age through the 60’s, there were unique aspects related to each developmental stage. Common to every stage is the need to heal from our loss. Sooner or later, we will work through our grief from loss, regardless of how along ago it happened. Crying is one avenue of release. No magic words, amount of time or number of accomplished tasks can replace process of healing from grief. 

The Motherless Daughters Ministry is dedicated to supporting your healing journey. We look forward to sharing all of our episodes. 

Please Just Let Me Cry 
Please, don’t ask me if I’m over it yet. 
I’ll never be over it. 
Please, don’t tell me she is in a better place. 
I haven’t come to terms with why she had to suffer at all. 
Please, don’t tell me you know how I feel, 
Unless you have lost a mother. 
Please, don’t ask me if I feel better. 
Bereavement isn’t a condition that clears up. 
Please, don’t tell me you had her for so many years. 
What year would you choose for your mother to die? 
Please, don’t tell me God never gives us more than we can handle. 
Please, just say you are sorry. 
Please, just let me talk about my mother. 
Please, mention my mother’s name. 
Please just let me cry. 
— Author unknown 

Subscribe to our podcast so you won’t miss what’s coming up next! We can be found on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify, Stitcher, Amazon Music, Audible, Pandora and iHeart. 

Have a blessed day! 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *